How I travelled from Scotland To Japan at 18 years old.

Sashistravels
2 min readApr 3, 2024

“From Scottish Skies to Japanese Horizons: My Girl’s Guide to Life Abroad”

Hey there, lovely souls! Welcome to my cozy corner of the internet, where I spill the tea on my life’s grand adventure. So grab your favorite snack and get ready to dive into the story of how a small-town gal found herself falling head over heels for the Land of the Rising Sun.

Picture this: a wee lassie frolicking amidst the rolling hills and endless skies of the Scottish countryside. Yep, that was me, living my best life surrounded by nature’s finest.

But as fate would have it, my journey took a detour when I swapped my countryside bliss for the hustle and bustle of central Scotland during high school. Suddenly, I found myself navigating the concrete jungles and fast-paced rhythm of city life.

And then, like a bolt of lightning, Japan came calling. The allure of cherry blossoms, sushi dates, and quirky Harajuku fashion had me hooked from the get-go. It was like love at first sight — or should I say, love at first sushi roll?

With stars in my eyes and butterflies in my stomach, I took the plunge and applied for university in Japan. And guess what? Lady luck was on my side, because I snagged an 80% scholarship for tuition reduction! Cue the confetti and happy dances.

--

--

Sashistravels

Exploration, Travel addict, exploring new places and sharing stories. A fan of self improvement.